Abu Dhabi 6/30/16 (Day five)

Day five I slept late because we were out so late the night before, but Ray had planned for us a desert safari. We got picked up at 5 in a Land Rover type jeep that then drove us out about 45 minutes away from central Abu Dhabi. Of course I know that Abu Dhabi is the desert, but it truly doesn’t look like it, it’s so modernized, so it was so cool to see sand dunes and even wild camels by the side of the road as we were driving out to our safari. And the first stop on our trip was a camel “farm” (that was really just camels out in the open but watched over by some men) that we were allowed to greet and pet. Being an animal lover, this thrilled me! 

While we were petting the camels our jeeps were getting ready (letting air out of the tires) for our adventure. We got back in the cars, buckled up, grabbed hold of the flip bars and were off, the drivers took us up and down, made sharp turns, took us to the top and side of dunes where I was sure we would flip over…I’d include videos but I don’t know how on here. It was awesome and I loved every minute!

It was also just so beautiful, we stopped at the top of one dune and took pics and then continued on. The ride lasted about 30-45 minutes. Then we arrived at our dinner spot, there were drinks, a falcon, 4 wheeler rides, sand boarding, and I rode my first camel!

We had a buffet dinner, there was a henna artist and finally shisha. What a wonderful night! I recommend this to everyone traveling to Abu Dhabi/ Dubai. 

Leave a comment